I watched Cowspiracy and now i’m a vegetarian

Cowspiracy. That’s what did it for me. I’d pondered vegetarianism before, but had never fully committed.

The documentary exposes that animal agriculture is responsible for 18 percent of greenhouse gas emissions, more than the combined exhaust from all transportation. Livestock covers 45% of the earth’s total land, and 1/3 of the planet is desertified with livestock farming as the leading cause. How could I preach that I cared for the environment and our future and continue to eat meat? I was a hypocrite, and it had to change.

A month and a half in, and i’ve genuinely never felt so good. I’ve had some small slip ups, like accidentally eating prawn toast until I realised it actually had prawn in, but on the whole it’s going well. I’m eating good, wholesome foods. I know this may not be because i’m a vegetarian, because technically a vegetarian could live on a diet of oreos and cheesy wotsits, but it has certainly changed my attitude towards food. Now, I want to eat plant based because it is good for inside and good for the Earth on my outside.

Since going veggie, I’ve realised how intrinsic meat consumption is in UK food culture. It’s no longer a symbol of wealth, but a symbol of unity. It is going to be a massive challenge to change this culture, but since #COP21, there is a sustainability driven wind in the air. Not eating meat or even eating less meat is one of the most sustainable choices an individual can make.

Leave a Reply

